The Secret About S’mores

s'mores

s'mores

S’mores are a summer campfire classic, and there’s no reason vegans shouldn’t be able to enjoy this toasty and tasty treat too. However, there is one sneaky ingredient that often gets in the way of vegan s’more-making. Many graham crackers are accidentally vegan and it isn’t too hard to find a dairy-free dark chocolate, but vegan marshmallows are another story. 

Marshmallows are another story. They commonly contain gelatin, an animal-based ingredient, and many people don’t know the truth about how it’s made: by boiling the skin, tendons, ligaments and bones of cows or pigs. That sure makes s’mores a whole lot less appetizing, doesn’t it? 

Not only is gelatin in many brands of marshmallows, but it also sneaks its way into other things including some gummy candies and the coating on some vitamins. The good news? Vegan marshmallows exist and their availability is on the rise so you can make a fully vegan s’more this summer. Check out some gelatin-free goodies below.

Vegan Marshmallows: Trader Joe’s Marshmallows, Dandies, Yummallo

Vegan Gummies: Surf Sweets, YumEarth, Smart Sweets

Vegan Vitamins: Hippo7, MyKindOrganics, Ritual 


Looking for vegan inspiration? Check out our delicious recipes and join us on Facebook

2 Comments on “The Secret About S’mores”

  1. I have purchased Dandies Vegan marshmallow for years. They are tasty. However, my son wanted me to make Rice Krispies treats. Using the Dandies marshmallows didn’t work. The end result was almost inedible. The ‘treats’ were too hard and the whole pan ended up in the trash. I would love to know if anyone has tried this with a different outcome. Thank You

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *